Closing times: When polls close by state*

6:00 PM EST

Two states

7:00 PM EST

Six states

7:30 PM EST

Three states

8:00 PM EST

19 states + DC

8:30 PM EST

One state

9:00 PM EST

Nine states

10:00 PM EST

Five states

11:00 PM EST

Four states

12:00 AM EST

One state

*States with multiple closing times are listed by the time when the majority of polls in that state close.
Source: Associated Press | Graphic: Jan Diehm/The Guardian